Australian democracy

Democracy, with all its problems, also has its paradoxes. Regular elections lead to short government life-time.

Australian democracy

In essence, Westminster is the name given to the system of parliamentary democracy used in countries such as Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

Key Features of the Westminster System The essential features of the system Australian democracy The Government is chosen by the democratically elected lower house.

The government requires the continuing support of a majority of members of that chamber to stay in office. The head of government is the Prime Minister, who leads a Cabinet which is responsible to the lower house. A loyal Opposition exists, led by the leader of the party or parties with the second largest number of seats in the lower house.

On this page:

There is a career public service which impartially serves the government of the day. The armed services are outside of politics and act on the instructions of the government. The rule of law prevails, with an independent judiciary, subject to the Constitution.

The Westminster system is otherwise known as Responsible Government. It refers instead to the concept of a government being responsible and accountable to parliament. Westminster Variations The Westminster system varies from country to country, depending on local conditions and history. For example, Britain has a second chamber of Parliament, known as the House of Lords, whose members are either hereditary Lords or Lords appointed for life.

The Blair Labour Government instituted reforms to the system of appointment, notably abolishing further hereditary positions. By contrast, Australia has a second chamber of Parliament, known as the Senate, whose members represent the States of the Commonwealth, in fulfillment of the concept of federalism.

New Zealand, however, has a unicameral, or single-chamber, Parliament. Queensland, the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory also have unicameral parliaments. All these variations follow the principles of the Westminster system, in that governments are derived from the popularly-elected lower house.

Origins of Westminster The word derives from the London municipality of Westminster which is home to the Houses of Parliament. Originally, the Palace was the principal residence of the kings of England from the middle of the 11th century until Much of the original building was destroyed, following a major fire in Westminster Hall is the only part of the original building that remains.

It narrowly missed destruction during the German bombing of There is a Peter Carey who is a realtor, and a Peter Carey who is a priest. This Peter Carey is the Australian born author who won the Booker Prize twice.

Australian democracy

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) is responsible for providing the Australian people with an independent electoral service which meets their needs and encourages them to understand and participate in the electoral process.

I am very aware of not having written here for a while. Mainly this is because I am busy writing Flatpack 2 (This Time it’s Personal) but also because I’ve been frantically busy communicating in other ways. The Government of the Commonwealth of Australia (also referred to as the Australian Government, the Commonwealth Government, the Federal Government, and formally Her Majesty's Government) is the government of the Commonwealth of Australia, a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy..

The Commonwealth of Australia was formed in . This year marks the 20th anniversary of the resignation of Indonesia's authoritarian president, Suharto, who led Indonesia from until Old Parliament House is home to the Museum of Australian Democracy. A national icon, place of great beauty, magnificent design and historical significance, and.

Australian democracy
Democracy — Global Issues